Erich Saling Awardee

The "ERICH SALING PERINATAL PRIZE" was created by the World Association of Perinatal Medicine in 1999 and the prize is awarded at each World Congress to scientists who are currently among the best in the field of Perinatal Medicine.

A highlight of the opening ceremony was the awarding of the Erich Saling award to Professors Aris Antsaklis and Manuel Carrapato

Erich was at his oratorical best as he saluted and roasted these two legendary perinatologists.

Aris and Manuel were respected as paragons of obstetrics and pediatrics.

Erich went on to recognize their singular talents: Aris as a land loving Greek sailor and Manuel as an anglophile extraordinaire

Each received a beautiful sculpture, the admiration of the large international audience, and the gratitude of the WAPM.

Prof. Aris Antsaklis & Prof. Manuel Carrapato

2013 Erich Sailing Awardees

The Past Awardees of the Erich Saling Perinatal Prize:

2011Prof. Asim KurjakCroatia
Prof. Eduardo BancalariMiami,USA
2009Prof. Anne GreenoughLondon, UK
Prof. Joachim DudenhausenBerlin, Germany
2007Prof. Frank ChervenakNew York, USA
Prof. José CarreraBarcelona, Spain
2005Prof. Wolfgang HolzgreveBasel, Switzerland
2003Prof. Roberto RomeroDetroit, USA
2001Prof. Kypros NicolaidesLondon, UK